Oooh, and it makes me wonder (with all thanks to JImmy Page)

Oooh, and it makes me wonder (with all thanks to JImmy Page)

I was at the In This Moment show back in the fall and saw these two young ladies. I’ll admit that at the time, I took this pic because I found their attire humorous. After all, this was a METAL show and these two had not subscribed to the time honored uniform for our music. I chuckled to myself and walked away, shaking my head.

Several months later, I have to give them a big thumbs up. They had bigger balls than anyone else at the show (excepting the belly dancer who was making the rounds). These two girls, as silly as their attire was, were true metal. They were thumbing their noses at the establishment and daring anyone to tell them they were wrong.

This photo reminds me of what metal did for me when I was wayward youth: empowerment and giving a sense of belonging, even if only to the only other oddball in the room. (I will not, however, be copying their sense of fashion)

Leave a Reply

